Archive | 8:50 PM

“Effortless Beach Waves” Attempt, Fail & Recovery

2 Oct

I watched this YouTube video by Naptural85 (<3 ❤ ❤ her hair) called, “Effortless Beach Waves” (sounds oh so easy, fun & pretty right…?!)

Easy & B-E-A-UTIFUL right?!?!?!

 

So, I followed the video, put in my twists/bantu knots:

          

Wrapped it with a scarf & took it out in the morning (I did sit under a hooded dryer for 1 hour): 

   

Then by the time I got to work it looked like this….

where's the beach....the waves???

effortless......?

My husband's response, "It's different..." ...smh, that's never a good response.

I wasn’t too happy with it, put it up in a puff & decided to regroup later that night.

Apparently, my hair wasn’t fully dry and came out frizzy. I don’t do well drying overnight; I usually have to sit under a dryer for at least 2 hours & can’t wrap my hair with a satin scarf at night so it can continue to dry by the morning (but I know that about my hair and thought that this time would be different….b/c I watched this video…smh).

 

ATTEMPT #2:

  • I did 4 flat twists down the back half & 4 flat twists on each side of my head (total of 12 instead of her 5 in the video)
  • I sat under a hooded dryer that night for 1 hour, wrapped in satin scarf overnight, sat under hooded dryer for 45 minutes that morning bc the bantu knots were still wet…

 

 

 

The take out results of attempt #2:

“womp womp…” it looked the same as the day before so I re-twisted it at work and pinned it all up to the top of my head:

My thought was that I'd leave it pinned up half of the day so it can continue to dry...

I should have just kept it like this all day at work...

The AC was not working at the office this day & it was HOT...

Then the final take down midday:

 

SO….IT’S NOT EXACTLY, NO, NOT AT ALL EFFORTLESS & LOOKS MORE LIKE A TWIST OUT, WHICH IS FINE…BUT I DIDN’T HAVE TO DO ALL THIS WORK FOR A REGULAR TWIST OUT…LOL.

OH THE JOYS OF NATURAL HAIR & EXPERIMENTING WITH NEW STYLES…

So, where do you think I went wrong…? I think Naptural85’s hair is magic…that’s it…lol, LATER!

 

 

 

© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.