Case of the Shady Hair Salon…!

23 Sep
   

Last night a good friend of mine who has been natural for YEARS sent me a text message:

Thu, Sep 22, 2011 8:34pm “Word to the wise…if you ever go to the Dominicans [to get a blow out]…take your own shampoo and conditioner…I definitely think I’ve been had!”


Thu, Sep 22, 2011 8:35pm “I just washed out my blow out that I got Sat. and my curls are w/o a doubt MUCH looser than when I went in! BUT my hair is softer so that’s a bonus 🙂 “

Thu, Sep 22, 2011 8:36pm “But I’m certain by my new texture/loose curls that they didn’t just use shampoo/condit in my hair!”
Of course I’m freaking out & had a million & 1 questions for her:
Did they put a relaxer in her hair? What did they do? Why didn’t she ask more questions? This a crime! Can she sue the salon?
So, this is what happened:

D: “It cost $28. This is my first time I’ve had…[a Dominican blow-out on] my hair. They washed, blow dried and flat ironed; no grease was used, only a lil light spray. When I went in, I knew (or thought) I needed a trim…but when the lady was done…my ends were SO sleek and straight, I was surprised! She recommended I get a deep condition, next time (that was probably a code word for PERM, lol!) But my hair was SO shiny and healthy looking I was too hyped and was just like, “alright!” But she will never get the chance [to do her “deep condition”]! Lol I immediately felt and saw a difference in my hair/curls right after my wash tonight. But I AM NOT complaining about how soft it is! :). As long as it doesn’t fall out, I’m good!”

So, basically after getting the blowout, her hair texture was much different than before, “looser curls, softer etc.” while washing & after being blow dried again. This may be just a matter of her having straightened her hair a bit much (she was getting it washed, blow-dried and flat ironed by her regular hair stylist but all summer she did without the flat iron and washed, blow dried & did a rod set), OR maybe they did use some type of texturizer in her hair.  If the answer is the latter…then I would be highly upset.  Who wants to have chemicals, whether light or heavy, put in their hair without them asking for it? I work hard to keep my hair natural and am not about to have to start over because someone thinks this ‘chemical’ will make it easier for her to do MY hair.  My friend had a much better reaction than I probably would have…they would have seen me back in the shop looking at products, ingredients and interrogating everyone! LOL, this is my main issue, when her new growth starts to come in…will it be a totally different texture than the rest of her hair because of this incident? What do you think?

Word to the wise ladies: Not only should you research your products, but ALSO research the salons you go to and ask questions, don’t worry if they seem bothered by it…YOU are the customer.  All of this will help us to KEEP our curls 24seven.



Have you been to a shady hair salon and had a bad experience?

-MrsAshB
© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
11 Responses to “Case of the Shady Hair Salon…!”

  1. Anthony Austin September 23, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    No, but I have received some jacked up haircuts and had a scab line up! cough cough…Cherry Avenue Barbers!

    • mrsashb September 23, 2011 at 3:01 PM #

      lol, I’ve seen some of those line ups and Im MAD you said the barbershop though…lol. Some places definitely should ease up OR you need to speak up while you’re in the chair….or maybe that’s not really a “guy” thing to do. haha

  2. Erva September 23, 2011 at 2:58 PM #

    Hey Ashley,

    The difference between a Dominican blowout and a regular salon blowout, is that the Dominican salons use a ridiculous amount of heat that is much higher than other salons. They also do a lot of pulling and tugging to get the hair straight. I have a sensitive scalp and went to a Domincan salon once for a wash and set. I recall feeling the heat from the blow dryer basically sizzling my scalp. It was like the stylist was directly hitting my scalp instead of just blow drying the hair. I had never experience that before. My scalp basically got sunburned or something equally tragic. My scalp was sore for days, and my hair was also super straight like nothing I had experienced before. There were no chemicals involved, but it just shows the power of heat when you ramp it up.

    • mrsashb September 23, 2011 at 3:03 PM #

      Erva, that’s crazy “the heat from the blow dryer basically sizzling my scalp”…smh. I can see how that might have the effect of changing someones hair texture too though especially if it’s done frequently.

      • Ronnie Brown September 23, 2011 at 3:14 PM #

        This Dude Lay-mont diid my twist once……smh…never again…i was clowned for days..lol

      • mrsashb September 23, 2011 at 3:19 PM #

        LOL…Lay-mont man.

      • Erva September 23, 2011 at 4:33 PM #

        Yes, and that is why I have never gone to another Dominican salon. My tender scalp cannot handle that.

  3. tameka September 25, 2011 at 10:06 AM #

    Hey Guys! I used to go to a Dominican shop every 2 weeks to get my hair washed and roller set. I only asked for a blowout a couple of times though. I guess I wonder if the Dominicans are getting a bad rap, because of these blowouts? Marisol’s in Brooklyn, was always on point. I really hope a chemical wasn’t added to your friend’s hair.

    • mrsashb September 25, 2011 at 12:34 PM #

      Yea, hopefully they didn’t put chemicals in her w/o her asking for that. But she seems ok with it. Glad u had good experiences w/the blowout & your hair still looks healthy, lovely & has kept its curls

  4. tameka September 25, 2011 at 1:35 PM #

    Hey Guys! I used to go to a Dominican shop every 2 weeks to get my hair washed and roller set. I only asked for a blowout a couple of times though. I guess I wonder if the Dominicans are getting a bad rap, because of these blowouts? Marisol’s in Brooklyn, was always on point. I really hope a chemical wasn’t added to your friend’s hair. Hopefully

  5. Ami November 8, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

    Dominicans are the worst for natural hair! My first time transitioning completely i went to them to straighten. The first place was horrible, always filled with smoke and the women were so pushy with perms! No matter how many time I told them I was transitioning and don’t want a perm they still asked if I was sure. So I left them. The second place was better but I broke their comb once. I eventually got a texturizer, mostly to manage my hair at school and combat shrinkage (from a black salon). I decided I would transition again and stick to it but I really wasnt ready so I decided to get a another texturizer till I decided because my hair was growing like crazy and the those two textures might be easier to manage. So I went to the Dominicans (bless their non English speaking hearts) and asked for a texturizer, made sure they realized what I wanted and let her at it. Of course I left there with straight perm and a stank attitude. They think they know everything and when they do something wrong they blame it on you not being clear or them not understanding. Training should include English lessons as well. Because I was with my mother she insisted I just pay, which made me even more mad. Soooooo now on transition number two I’m dealing with three different textures instead of just two….But if that didn’t happen I might have tried to transition again with heat but I haven’t touched heat since then and my new growth curls seem so much different then the first time around.

Leave a Reply

