Being Natural For Real Or For Fake?

29 Sep

I came across this article on Curlynikki.com by Rashea Hamilton, “Obsessed with hair manipulation…am I truly a natural?”.  She talks about how she manipulates her hair doing twist outs, using dyes, manipulating her hair texture constantly and if by doing these things means that she is not really a natural hair girl.  She goes on to tell her hair story through the years and how she went back & forth some with being natural.  Then she poses the question:

“What does it mean to be natural?”

My take on it is this:

When I had relaxed hair (ages 5-23) I didn’t really start doing any different styles with my hair until 10th grade in high school thanks to my own interest in my hair and my friends interest in my hair (I was definitely a huge tom-boy all the years before that thanks to my older brother).  I remember my group of girl friends & I got sent to the Principals office in 8th grade because my friend (CRYSTAL, yes I’m putting you out there for getting me in trouble, lol! Remember that teacher that told on us…we couldn’t stand her!) brought a battery operated curling iron to school and they were curling my hair in the locker room (guess I was the test subject because I had the longest hair at the time).  The Principal acted like she was upset then she was asking all kinds of questions about the curling iron, like she was gonna take ours home for herself!

8th grade Principal confiscated our cordless curling iron...lol

 

I didn’t do much to my hair besides wearing it in a ponytail, half up and the rest down, maybe a side swoop (check my pics…its the same hairstyle every year, earlier years it was that tight bang in the front, then a side bang, then the swoop lol).  But all throughout this time I was still getting relaxers.  I didn’t consider my hair or myself to be natural until I stopped getting relaxers and cut off the remainder of my permed hair.  At that point my hair was back in its natural/the hair I was born with, state.

Now, you could go further on to say that there are different stages of being natural:

1. natural & using hair dye/coloring (still a type/degree of a chemical in most cases)

2. natural & using regular hair products/styling products (products that don’t have all-natural ingredients)

3. natural & using all natural hair products

 

There’s probably many more stages but ultimately, I think as long as you are not chemically changing the texture of your hair then you have natural hair any kind of way that you style it, an afro, bantu-knots, twist outs, braids when that hair gets wet, puffs out or shrinks up…oh yes, it’s natural hair. It’s all up to you, whatever stage of being natural you would like to be (and of course that definitely changes), be that, be natural and love your curls! 🙂

 

So, what DOES it mean to be natural and have natural hair?

© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
7 Responses to “Being Natural For Real Or For Fake?”

  1. mane man October 6, 2011 at 9:32 PM #

    I totally agree with you on what you define as natural. From what I’ve seen on the web and different forums, some people are just so set on being the natural hair police and telling other people what they can and can not do to their hair…it’s crazy!

    • mrsashb October 7, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

      lol @mane man. very true

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Effortless Beach Waves” Attempt, Fail & Recovery « 24sevencurls - October 2, 2011

    […] Being Natural For Real Or For Fake? (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) […]

  2. “Side Eye Moments” Reaction Part I « 24sevencurls - October 7, 2011

    […] Being Natural For Real Or For Fake? (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Pain, Stinch & Sounds Of Our Hair…ahhh the memories! « 24sevencurls - October 14, 2011

    […] Being Natural For Real Or For Fake? (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) IDHHC Update: Doing well with moisturizing each night & sealing ends, drinking water, exercise, still have the 2 strands in. Still need to get more fruits & veggies though; gotta get groceries this weekend (or ‘make groceries’ as we say back at home; lol!) LATER! © Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed A cheat sheet of peer-to-peer car sharing players Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintMoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  4. Response to “We will not lose our love, our marriage, OVER HAIR” « 24sevencurls - October 25, 2011

    […] Being Natural For Real Or For Fake? (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) © Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintMoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. Natural Wigs - November 5, 2011

    […] Hair: The Giant Pink Elephant in the RoomTreat your stressed strands to a Hair Masque!Being Natural For Real Or For Fake? […]

Leave a Reply

