The Liquid Hair Dryer….?!?!?

5 Oct

So, a year or so ago a friend suggested that I try some Garnier Fructis products.  I started using the Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo & Conditioner. I stopped using the shampoo because I felt like it stripped my hair too much but I like the effects of the Conditioner: nice hold, defines my curls & doesn’t have harsh ingredients.

If you know me, you know that I LOVE LOVE LOVE a sale and a grocery store was closing so everything was 90% off. I grabbed the Garnier Fructis 3-Minute Undo Dryness Reversal Treatment & the Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Fortifying Deep Conditioner 3-minute masque (and a lot of food…)

Triple Nutrition 3-Minute Undo Dryness Reversal Treatment

3 Nutritive Fruit oils: Olive, Avocado, & Shea- enriched with apricot seeds. Sounds great right?!

Sleek & Shine Frizz Defeat Deep Treatment

Another 3 minute miracle in a bottle eh? Apricot & Avocado Oil, Vitamins B3 & B6

I used the 1st one a few times: 3-minute undo dryness reversal treatment and I didn’t feel like my hair was soft or moisturized at all. I didn’t understand why it still felt dry…

-Maybe I left it on too long (I’ve never used a product for only 3 minutes…do they know how much hair I have….what’s 3 minutes going to do?)

-Maybe I should have just done it for 3 minutes…and they really know what they’re talking about…

-Olive oil, Avocado & Shea Butter seem like great ingredients….what’s really going on?

So I later found an article on Motowngirl.com called “Ingredients to Avoid in Products”.

The #1 product to AVOID is:

Mineral Oil: A derivative of crude oil (petroleum) that is used industrially as a cutting fluid and lubricating oil. Mineral oil forms an oily film over the skin to lock in moisture, but hinders normal scalp respiration by keeping oxygen out, which in turn can make the hair feel hard and can dry it out.”

(I keep the article with me in my bag from now on just in case I’m out shopping and forget what ingredients to avoid.)

I had learned from other sites that the first 4 ingredients on the back of a product are the ingredients used in the highest quantities in that product.

On the 3-Minute Undo Dryness, ingredients 1-4 are:

1. Aqua/water/eau

2. Cetearyl Alcohol (I read somewhere that this is the “good” alcohol)

3. Paraffinum liquidum/mineral oil/huile minerale (Parlais vous Francais?)

4. Dipalmitoylethyl Hydroxyethylmonium Methosulfate (say that 5 times fast)

 

Did you catch # 3: Paraffinum liquidum/mineral oil/huile minerale (they even said it in French, lol!)

Now this product may work for other people’s hair but it had the reverse, reversal effect on my hair. My husband calls it “the liquid hair dryer” (he’s so clever huh? 🙂 ). But, needless to say I have stopped using this product and am definitely avoiding anything with mineral oil in it. It may have just been the combination of the sleek & shine shampoo that seemed to dry it out along with this dryness reversal…but….I don’t need anymore convincing, it’s on my DO NOT USE list.

 

What products have you added to your DO NOT USE list?  

 

 

© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
4 Responses to “The Liquid Hair Dryer….?!?!?”

  1. jjcar October 5, 2011 at 10:35 PM #

    Mineral oil, or any oil rather, really does coat the hair and keep moisture from going in or out. I try to stay away from mineral oil as much as I can but every now and then doesn’t hurt.

    • mrsashb October 5, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

      everything in moderation, that’s true. i was unhappy with my results though….it doesn’t take much for me to put a stop to something lol. However, I’m not a product/ingredient Nazi…but I don’t want to mess up my hair again (before being natural stage) you know?

  2. marsimone1 October 6, 2011 at 4:31 PM #

    I have heard that the sleek and shine does actually leave the hair looking shiny. Did it make your hair shiny?

    • mrsashb October 6, 2011 at 6:05 PM #

      I’m not sure; I think I was too overcome by the dryness to notice anything else. I guess if it shininess had been more noticeable I would have seen it, so I doubt it. Guess it works differently on everyone’s hair….

Leave a Reply

