“Side Eye Moments” Reaction Part I

7 Oct

I saw this post on curlynikki.com and thought it was pretty fun and SOOOO common:

“Side Eye Moments”

Skinny Kenny goes on to explain 1 of his own “side eye moments” (moment when someone gives you an underhanded compliment or just disses your hair to your face on the sly like its ok…):


Skinny-Kenny
 writes:

“I was at a very nice restaurant for my mother’s birthday. I got up to go to the bathroom and an older white woman stopped me and told me how much she loved my hair. She told me how much I looked like “little Richard”, and asked if I was a singer. The conversation was going well and I was about to go about my way. And then she said, “Ohh and we are ready to order now, I’ll have the lamb and she’ll have the salmon.” *SIDE EYE* You are going to have some… go somewhere with that mess. My hair doesn’t make me a server for you.”

LOL, how is this lady gonna compliment him and then straight take it back as she assumes he’s her waiter…..?! Too funny.  I had a conversation with a kid today about my hair (mind you, kids say WHATEVER they want to because they’re just innocent little kids right…NOT!)

I took out my 2 strand flat twists that were in the front all week that I had been wearing like a head band and pinned them to one side, while the back of my hair was in the same wash & go style I had worn all week. So, granted I was a bit “un-confident” in my hair because it was a little different than usual for me & I knew my wash & go wasn’t too fresh. So the little girl, who’s sweet as pie usually I promise, she tells me:

Little Girl: “You look different from the last time I saw you.  Your hair was tied back last time now it’s just soooo curly. Did you want your hair to look like that?”

Me: “wait, what do you mean ‘do I want it to look like that’?”

Little Girl: “Did you want it to look like that? I’m  just asking?”

Me: “Well is it messed up? Yea, I meant for it to look like this, girl we bout to go to the bathroom and fix it! LOL”

The little girl is a sweetheart I just wasn’t expecting her to say that. Yes, I get my hair tips from 5 year olds LOL.

What underhanded/sideways hair compliments have you gotten? (Is it even still called a compliment if they just take right back from you, lol?)

My hair today 10/7/11:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
3 Responses to ““Side Eye Moments” Reaction Part I”

  1. sassystephb October 8, 2011 at 6:21 PM #

    I was at school and A lady said that she loved my hair style. she then says “i wish i could do that, but my hair is too soft” O_o What does that me? I can do a twist out cause i got a brillo pad on my head? FOH! My hair is SOFT too. lol

    • mrsashb October 8, 2011 at 8:36 PM #

      People are a trip right? LOL! If you can’t give a genuine compliment then just keep ’em to yaself please, that’s what we need to tell them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Side Eye Moments” Reaction Part II « 24sevencurls - October 8, 2011

    […] “Side Eye Moments” Reaction Part I (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPrintMoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

