Mane Man Winning Women…AND Natural Hair

17 Oct

An Open Letter to the Natural Hair Community.

Take a look at this post from Mane Man, Jor-El featured on curlynikki.com and his blog, follow & subscribe! Mane Man

 

My response:

This is a very nice post, sweet even, Mane Man Jor-El.  It’s funny because it made me think of when I 1st started my natural hair blog and my husbands first comment on my post was “Babe, you are inspiring me to re-grow my fro…I don’t know if the world is ready for that. Hahaha” and my response was “they’re not ready….” but in my mind I was like no don’t DO IT! lol, I think that was my reaction mainly because when he did have his fro he didn’t know what to do with it, he doesn’t have patience for long hair or his short hair & it would end up being more hair for me to do (I do his haircuts now too so I guess that’s not too different). But I say all that to say, that it IS a daily battle having natural hair & committing to loving it in all of its complexities & uniqueness especially in today’s society/media/based off of the area/region you live in…anyhoo, just my thoughts. Congrats on being on Curlynikki.com too!

 

© Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls, 2011. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material, documents, and images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ashley Brown and 24sevencurls with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One Response to “Mane Man Winning Women…AND Natural Hair”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Response to “We will not lose our love, our marriage, OVER HAIR” « 24sevencurls - October 25, 2011

    […] Mane Man Winning Women…AND Natural Hair (24sevencurls.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

