My “Retro Braids” Variation via A Curl’s Best Friend

5 Nov

Good day!

Yesterday I watched the Retro Braids Tutorial on A Curl’s Best Friend and figured I had some time so I’d try it out.

 

Her Tutorial Video:

 

My variation 🙂 :

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

So, I like how it turned out. I did try numerous times to do it exactly like she did in the video but…it was just a little different and I need to work on my cornrow skills and doing the flat twist from both sides…it turns out better if i go from right to left instead of the opposite. Mine may look a little different too because I did it on wet hair (hers looked like it had been stretched maybe from a previous twist out).

1. On washed & conditioned wet hair, part the hair in half across the head for the front section then part down the middle of the back section.

2. On the front section from right to left do 1 large flat twist.  Pin the end of the flat twist on top of your head behind the  front.

3. On the back section do 2 flat twists going straight down on both sides, then pin the ends in the middle around each other.

4. I used Fantasia IC Gel on my edges and wrapped it in a satin scarf to lay it down more & to sleep in.

I’ll probably try it again after a twist out or on dry/stretched hair…& get my opposite twisting game up!

6 Responses to “My “Retro Braids” Variation via A Curl’s Best Friend”

  1. antoinette ans shanti November 5, 2011 at 6:46 PM #

    They look great! Your variation is so cute! Do u mind if we report this?

    • mrsashb November 5, 2011 at 7:10 PM #

      Thank you! No, I don’t mind at all, go right ahead! 🙂

  2. Lashawn November 5, 2011 at 10:08 PM #

    Love this variation! I think I may try this in between doing my twists. Thanks!

    • mrsashb November 6, 2011 at 1:46 PM #

      thanks Lashawn! can’t wait to see your results

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Hair Days… « 24sevencurls - November 10, 2011

    […] hair day…or a lazy hair week….couple of weeks?!  I’ve really been wearing this “retro braid variation” all week and I LOVE it because I just moisturize (probably twice this week), throw some oil on my […]

  2. My, My, My! Deeee-licious! It’s the HOLIDAYS! « 24sevencurls - November 29, 2011

    […] 2nd set of pics are a twist out from the Retro Braid hairstyle, just pinned the top half to the back. […]

Leave a Reply

