The BIG Twist OUT…

9 May

THE BIG TWIST OUT!

AND

THE BIG PAY BACK!

This was my theme music when I took the twists out because I think I left them in too long and it was all rainy…my hair decided to pay me back for leaving ’em in for so long and it just wanted to be puffy!

“gotta deal with you, gotta deal wit ya!” (p.s. I love old soul music if you didn’t know) “I don’t know karate but I know ka-razy!” -King of Soul James Brown

Puffy twist out (it wasn’t so bad, just not what I usually want it to look like):

    

Sooooo, since I wasn’t too thrilled w/all this puffy hair, I decided to do more sections (8 in the back instead of 4) and flat twist them. I also used the same product again:

So here’s what I did and here’s what I came out with…

            

So, the key to getting the twist out that I like on my hair is to do more sections, use enough product (something with decent hold), don’t wet the hair too much when twisting, make sure it’s fully dry before I take the twists out or that it hasn’t gotten “wet/humid” again since the original twists and as always… “if at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again!” 🙂

5 Responses to “The BIG Twist OUT…”

  1. Skills May 9, 2012 at 4:21 PM #

    Your twist out looks amazing and your twist are so full and thick!!! I really need to learn how to do a decent flat twist! I can’t seem to do them to save my life!! LOL! But again, your hair looks fab!!

    Shelli

    • mrsashb May 10, 2012 at 1:45 PM #

      Thanks so much! I definitely did a lot of trial and error over the years & many youtube video tutorials to figure out this flat twisting, its still not perfect but its “presentable” (I need to master corn rowing next especially w/my little girl on the way!)

  2. awkwardcelebrity May 9, 2012 at 11:35 PM #

    I never thought to do chunky twist outs, it gives really great volume!

    • mrsashb May 10, 2012 at 1:48 PM #

      It does give great volume, my hair just needed more sections to hold the pattern this time around. But if I wanted something looser/fluffy less sections would be the way to go for me & this thick hair! I looked at a strand under a microscope before ad compared it to my friends, my 1 strand looked like a huge rope & hers was not even close to the same size/thickness.

      • awkwardcelebrity May 10, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

        wow! I would love thickness like that! my mom’s side of the family has normal to thin hair that grows long but does not have much volume so genetically I’m stuck with thinner hair 😦 I’ll still try chunky twist outs just to see how it looks though!

Leave a Reply

